top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLutricia Lopez

The 10 Day Wedding Diet

Approximately thirteen years ago I was getting ready for my wedding. As most brides to be, I wanted to lose a little weight before our big day. I don’t recall the details of how many days I did this particular diet and what (if any) exercising I did). What I remember for the most part, is I ate grilled chicken, broccoli and cottage cheese for most meals. I was not a big breakfast eater, so that meal often got skipped. I would also snack on those single serving smart pop popcorn. I stuck to only eating those things for days and lost weight.

Now thirteen years later, I decided to give this another try but to take thorough notes. My husband goes to Colorado almost every year around this time and while he is away I like to get creative. This started the year when we were introduced to our twins. I first met them when my husband was in Colorado. I knew when I first heard about them needing a home, I wanted them to be a part of our family, and they did become our family. After that, one year we got six ducks. Another year we got a pot-belly pig. One year I remodeled the closet. You can get the gist of my routine of changing something. This year, I decided to create the 10 Day Wedding Diet.

I am going to warn you, if you like eating a variety of things, you may have a difficult time with this. This diet is repetitive on what you eat. I am including what I ate each day, but keep in mind, you can switch it up with something similar. (I will give some similar foods you can swap out as well). I also want to say, I am not a healthcare professional. Also not every diet works the same on others, God has created us all differently, and we all have different needs.

In my opinion, this is a great thing to do if you have hit a plateau in what you are currently doing. When you see my workouts, which is strictly jogging and walking, don’t get yourself discouraged and say, I can’t do all that. I enjoy going out on runs and when my boys are at football practice, I walk the track. Which gives me some extra workouts. I do encourage some kind of working out. If you cannot get out and jog or walk, I recommend doing a routine at home or if you are a member at a gym, get your workout on there.

As you will see in my eating schedule, it is not consistent. I stay pretty busy, doing different things daily. Sometimes I skip meals, go six to eight (sometimes more) hours without eating. I suggest for you to stick to your normal eating schedule. This wedding diet is basically a lower fat and low carb diet. No, I do not classify it as a “low carb” diet, I personally believe that carbs are a very important part of nutrition. That is my opinion. For me, it was just easier for me to eat the same things each day. Of course the first couple days of this, I missed eating the “good” stuff. On day five, I did get a burst of energy. I had my best run/jog that day.

Pay attention to your body. If you are not feeling right, you need to be wise and make sure what you are doing is right for you.

As you will see when you look at my daily menu, I ate grilled chicken everyday. I seasoned it with SLAP YA MAMA Cajun seasoning and some days I added Parmesan cheese while I was cooking it. I would cook it in a frying pan with avocado oil. I had cottage cheese almost everyday as well. I like adding a green veggie. You could do spinach, broccoli or green beans. I also did beets one day. Check the nutritional information on the vegetables you want to eat. I like to keep the fat, carbs and sugar low. You could also substitute the chicken for fish. Remember, protein is very important. For breakfast, I used whole grain breads. The oatmeal was an whole grain oatmeal as well. I bought the Skinny Popcorn from Costco. I suggest if you are snacking on the popcorn, you can add some protein as well. I added deer jerky, that was a yummy treat.

This diet worked well with me to help me started in my weight loss journey. Sometimes trying something new is what we need to do. Now that these ten days are done, I am looking to see what I need to do now to keep that weight off and continue to get where I want to.

I pray as you begin or continue your goals that you will be successful and healthy. Please feel free to send me a private message if you have any questions.

If you do decide to give this 10 Day Wedding Diet a try, I want to hear from you. Please send me your before and after pics, write up a testimony and tell me if you changed it up. Please share what you did! I am very pleased with my results and pray you too will have amazing results.

Day 1:

Lunch: 1 piece of wheat bread and 3 egg whites. Snack: 2 ½ cups of skinny popcorn

Dinner: 3 grilled chicken tenders and cottage cheese

Snack: 4 cups of skinny popcorn

Exercise:

Jog/walk 3 miles Walk track 2 ½ miles

Day 2:

Lunch: whole grain bread and 2 egg whites

Snack: approx 2 ½ cups of skinny popcorn

Dinner: 4 grilled chicken tenders, green beans and cottage cheese

Snack: approx 4 cups of Skinny Popcorn

Exercise:

Jog/walk: 3 ½ miles

Day 3:

Breakfast: blueberry oatmeal

Snack: approx 2 cups of skinny popcorn

Dinner: 4 grilled chicken tenders and cottage cheese

Snack: Approx 4 cups of Skinny Popcorn

Exercise:

Jog/walk: 3 ½ miles

Day 4:

Lunch: whole grain bread and 3 egg whites

Snack: deer jerky and approx 2 cups of skinny popcorn

Dinner: chicken breast, green beans and cottage cheese

Snack: approx 2 cups of skinny popcorn and deer jerky

No workout today

Day 5:

Breakfast: whole grain bread and 3 egg whites

Snack: deer jerky and cottage cheese

Dinner: grilled chicken, cottage cheese and green beans

Exercise:

Walk approx 3 ½ miles

Day 6:

Breakfast: whole grain bread and 3 egg whites

Snack: deer jerky and cottage cheese

Dinner: grilled chicken, beets and cottage cheese

Exercise:

Approx 3 ½ - 4 mile walk

Day 7:

Breakfast: whole grain bread and 3 egg white

Snack: deer jerky and approx 2 cups of skinny popcorn

Dinner: grilled chicken breast with broccoli and cheese

Exercise:

jog/walk 3 ½ miles

Day 8:

Breakfast: whole grain bread and 3 egg whites

Lunch: grilled chicken and broccoli with cheese

Dinner: grilled chicken, broccoli with cheese and cottage cheese

Exercise:

Walked: 4 miles

Day 9:

Breakfast: whole grain bread and 3 egg whites

Snack: approx 4 cups skinny popcorn and deer jerky

Dinner: grilled chicken and broccoli with cheese

Exercise:

jog/walk approx 3 ½ miles

Day 10:


Breakfast: blueberry oatmeal

Dinner: grilled chicken, green beans and cottage cheese

No workout today

69 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page